

Meeting as the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council

Communiqué

23 November 2016

Health Ministers announce new National Board Chair and member appointments

The Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council (the Ministerial Council) is very pleased to announce new appointments to four National Boards regulating the professions of:

- Chinese medicine
- medical radiation practice
- occupational therapy
- physiotherapy.

The appointments are made to fill vacancies on these National Boards, including two new National Board Chairs. The details of the statutory appointments are set out in the attachment to this communiqué.

Ministers wished to thank the outgoing and inaugural Chair of the Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia, Mr Neil Hicks, and also former Chair of the Physiotherapy Board of Australia, Mr Paul Shinkfield, for their leadership, dedication and contributions to the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme (the national scheme).

Ministers extended a warm welcome to Mr Mark Marcenko and Dr Charles Flynn (PhD) to their new roles as Chairs of the Medical Radiation Practice and Physiotherapy Boards respectively. Their succession to these leadership roles reflects the depth and breadth of their skills and experience, including regulatory experience gained as practitioner members appointed from Tasmania and Victoria on the National Boards.

Finally, Ministers welcomed six new practitioner and community members to their first terms on the National Boards and thanked them for expressing their interest in, and commitment to, the principles of the national scheme and the regulation of health practitioners in the public interest.

Health Ministers thanked the 46 registered health practitioners and members of the community who took the time to apply for these vacancies when they were publicly advertised earlier this year. Vacancies on the National Boards arise from time to time, and individuals who were not successful in this round are encouraged to express their interest in the future. Vacancies are advertised, including on the Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency (AHPRA) website.

The Ministerial Council's appointments are made under the Health Practitioner Regulation National Law, as in force in each state and territory and are consistent with the Australian Health Ministers' Advisory Council (AHMAC)-endorsed *National Board Member Succession Planning Principles*.

Media contact: COAG Health Council Secretariat – 08 8226 6191

Appointments made to National Boards

Appointments are made to National Boards by resolution of the Australian Health Workforce Ministerial Council on 15 November 2016, under the *Health Practitioner Regulation National Law*, as in force in each state and territory, for terms as indicated below.

Chinese Medicine Board of Australia

• **Mrs Virginia Ryan** – appointed as new community member on the Board from 22 November 2016 for a period of 3 years.

Medical Radiation Practice Board of Australia

- Mr Mark Marcenko appointed as new Chair of the Board from 21 November 2016 to 1 July 2017, the remainder of his continuing term as practitioner member (nuclear medicine technologist) from Tasmania
- **Mr Richard Bialkowski** appointed as new community member from 21 November 2016 for a period of 3 years
- **Ms Cara Miller** appointed as new practitioner member (diagnostic radiographer) from South Australia from 21 November 2016 for a period of 3 years
- **Mr Brendan McKernan** appointed as new practitioner member (radiation therapist) from Western Australia from 23 November 2016 for a period of 3 years.

Occupational Therapy Board of Australia

• **Ms Sally Cunningham** – appointed as new practitioner member from Victoria from 21 November 2016 for a period of 3 years.

Physiotherapy Board of Australia

- **Dr Charles Flynn** (**PhD**) appointed as new Chair of the Board from 23 November 2016 to 31 August 2018, the remainder of his continuing term as practitioner member from Victoria.
- **Mr Lachlan Mortimer** appointed as new practitioner member from Tasmania from 23 November 2016 for a period of 3 years.

All other current appointments to these National Boards are listed on each of the Boards' websites, which can be accessed via www.ahpra.gov.au