

Communiqué

November 2023 meeting of the Accreditation Committee

The Ahpra Board established the Accreditation Committee (the committee) consistent with <u>Ministerial</u> <u>Council Policy Direction 2020-1</u> to provide independent and expert advice on accreditation reform and other National Scheme accreditation matters to National Scheme entities (National Boards, Accreditation Authorities and Ahpra). Other external entities performing accreditation roles as part of the National Scheme, such as specialist colleges and postgraduate medical councils should have regard for the committee's advice, where relevant.

The committee issues a communiqué after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

The committee held its tenth meeting via videoconference on 29 November 2023. The committee welcomed Professor Esther May as the new Universities Australia nominee replacing Emeritus Professor Ian Wronski. The committee also welcomed Mr Michael Carpenter, Ahpra's incoming Specialist Accreditation Advisor. The committee noted that Dr Susan Young had retired from the Ahpra Board, and also from this committee. The committee noted that it was Professor Brian Jolly's last meeting as Deputy Chair of the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF) and thanked him for his many contributions to the work of the committee since its establishment. The committee also noted that Mr Anton-Barnett Harris had been appointed Deputy Chair of the HPACF and would join the committee in 2024.

The key areas considered by the committee during the meeting are reflected in its workplan.

Cultural safety and eliminating racism considerations

Members discussed the work of the HPACF that surveyed accreditation authorities in 2020 and 2023 to identify their activities to increase Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander representation in accreditation authorities' decision making. Members agreed that accreditation authorities had made good progress.

Members noted the update on initial work to establish the committee's Cultural Safety and Eliminating Racism Working Group.

Members discussed the importance of a multi-faceted approach to eliminating racism and the need for education providers to deliver complementary curricula to address racism alongside cultural safety.

Government workforce initiatives

Update on National Cabinet related work on health workforce strategies including Kruk review

Members noted the update on the *Independent review of health practitioner regulatory settings* by Ms Robyn Kruk AO and that National Cabinet is expected to meet before the end of the year to consider the outcomes of the review. Members also noted work being progressed by the National Health Workforce Taskforce to implement the recommendations of the Kruk Review.

Members also noted work being undertaken as part of the *Working Better for Medicare Review*, which is examining the effectiveness of current health workforce distribution levers. The review includes examining the fellowship requirements under section 19AA of the Health Insurance Act 1973.

Fostering good practice and enhancing efficiency in professional capabilities and in accreditation standards and processes across National Scheme professions

Members considered the draft good practice guidance on developing professional capabilities and approved the release of the draft guidance for preliminary consultation, subject to amendments as discussed.

Strengthening the involvement of consumers in accreditation

Members noted that preliminary consultation on the draft principles for strengthening the involvement of consumers in accreditation occurred between July and September 2023. Members considered an updated draft addressing the feedback from preliminary consultation, as well as the report on preliminary consultation and the communications and engagement plan. Members approved the release of the principles for public consultation commencing early in 2024, subject to amendments discussed.

Advice on good practice in the use of outcome-based approaches to accreditation

The committee considered the draft discussion paper on outcome-based approaches to accreditation that was amended to incorporate members' feedback from the September meeting. Members confirmed that consultation on this discussion paper would be targeted and that feedback would be used to inform the next steps in this work. Members approved the release of the discussion paper for targeted consultation, to take place early in 2024, subject to amendments as discussed.

Embedding interprofessional education and collaborative practice in education

Members noted a verbal update on the work to embed interprofessional education and collaborative practice in education, initially through a statement of intent. The final statement of intent has been sent to stakeholders for agreement and once all responses are received, the statement will be published on the Committee's website. Work is also commencing on implementation planning.

Annual updates

Work plan for 2024

Members reviewed the work plan for 2024 and discussed the need for further consideration of how the committee's advice will be implemented by National Scheme entities to ensure the work has maximum impact. Members agreed to make this a priority discussion in 2024.

Members also discussed the National Health Practitioner Ombudsman's work on accreditation related issues including accreditation of training sites by specialist medical colleges and issues of procedural fairness in the assessment of overseas trained health practitioners seeking specialist registration. Members considered how the committee might interact with the Ombudsman in 2024.

Meeting schedule for 2024

Members noted the meeting dates for 2024.

Next meeting

The next meeting will be held by video-conference in March 2024.

More information

Questions about the committee's work may be directed to the secretariat via email to: ahpra.secretariat@ahpra.gov.au.

Members

Professor Andrew Wilson AO	Independent Chair
Professor Maree O'Keefe	Accreditation/education expert
Ms Alison Barnes	Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander member
Associate Professor Carmen Parter	Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander member
Mr Brett Simmonds	National Boards representative
Professor Brian Jolly	Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF) nominee
Dr Hamza Vayani	Ahpra's Community Advisory Council nominee
Dr Heather Buchan	Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care nominee
Ms Katrina Quinn	Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA) nominee
Mr Jeffrey Moffet	Ahpra Board member
Mrs Kay Leatherland	Australian Private Hospitals Association (Private healthcare employer) nominee
Ms Narelle Mills	Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF) nominee
Professor Esther May	Universities Australia nominee
Ms Valerie Ramsperger	Jurisdictional representative
Adjunct Professor Veronica Casey AM	National Boards representative