

### Communiqué

### June 2024 meeting of the Accreditation Committee

The Ahpra Board established the Accreditation Committee (the committee) consistent with Ministerial Council Policy Direction 2020-1 to provide independent and expert advice on accreditation reform and other National Scheme accreditation matters to National Scheme entities (National Boards, Accreditation Authorities and Ahpra). Other external entities performing accreditation roles as part of the National Scheme, such as specialist colleges and postgraduate medical councils should have regard for the committee's advice, where relevant.

The committee issues a communiqué after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

The committee held its twelfth meeting in Melbourne on 19 June 2024.

The key areas considered by the committee during the meeting are reflected in its workplan.

#### Unleashing the Potential of our Health Workforce - Scope of Practice Review

The committee welcomed Professor Mark Cormack, Independent lead reviewer for the Unleashing the Potential of our Health Workforce (Scope of Practice) Review. Professor Cormack provided an overview of the review, its purpose and intended benefits and then discussed the stakeholder feedback received on the proposed reform options outlined in Issues Paper 2.

The Chair thanked Professor Mark Cormack and his team for providing the committee with information on the Review.

#### **Update from the Chair**

The Chair noted two key work plan items are underway. The *draft guidance on embedding good practice in clinical placements, simulation-based learning and virtual care in initial student health practitioner education* was released for public consultation and closes on 21 June. The Interprofessional collaborative practice (IPCP) Statement of Intent Implementation Working Group has now been established and held its first meeting on 17 June 2024.

Members also discussed the intersection between the committee's work and the <u>Independent review of complexity in the National Registration and Accreditation Scheme</u>.

#### Cultural safety and eliminating racism considerations

Members discussed work being led by Ahpra's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Unit on the draft National Cultural Safety Accreditation and Continuing Professional Development (ACPD) framework and strategy and the development of an anti-racism policy.

#### **Inaugural NRAS Annual Accreditation Meeting**

The inaugural NRAS Annual Accreditation meeting was held on 1 May 2024. Members provided feedback to be considered for the next annual meeting.

#### **Government workforce initiatives**

Members noted the update on work being progressed in response to the *Independent review of health* practitioner regulatory settings (the Kruk review).

Members also noted the work undertaken in response to a request from Minister Butler in relation to the *National Plan to End Violence Against Women and Children 2022-2032*.

#### Strengthening consumer involvement in accreditation

Members noted the feedback received from the public consultation on the proposed principles. Members approved the publication of the principles subject to amendments as discussed.

## Clarifying the roles of National Scheme entities and TEQSA in accreditation of health practitioner education

Members noted the update on the work to develop draft principles to clarify the roles of TEQSA and National Scheme entities in accreditation and to explore opportunities to reduce duplication and regulatory burden for education providers.

#### Advice on good practice in the use of outcome-based approaches in accreditation

Members noted that targeted consultation on the discussion paper on outcome-based approaches to accreditation. Members considered the feedback and noted that accreditation authorities and education providers would value more guidance from the committee on how to develop, use and measure an outcome-based approach, and examples of good practice. Members approved the draft principles and further work on the guidance before preliminary consultation early next year.

# Fostering good practice and enhancing efficiency in professional capabilities and in accreditation standards and processes across National Scheme professions

Members noted feedback received from the preliminary consultation on draft guidance on developing professional capabilities that closed in April 2024. Members considered the revised draft guidance and requested further revisions ahead of release for public consultation.

## Review of accreditation arrangements: new agreements and key performance indicators for accreditation authorities

Members noted the new accreditation arrangements for the period 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2029. Members provided feedback on the updated KPIs for accreditation authorities and suggested amendments and additional KPIs for Ahpra Board's consideration.

#### **Work planning**

Members discussed and agreed amendments to the current workplan to June 2025. The amendments reflect changes to the approaches being taken and feedback received at consultation. A revised draft workplan will be considered at the next meeting.

## The role of the committee in the implementation and monitoring of advice to National Scheme entities

Members considered and agreed the proposed approach to monitoring the implementation of the committee's advice through annual updates from National Scheme entities (Ahpra, National Boards and accreditation authorities) and relevant external bodies Members agreed to develop an implementation roadmap, a reporting template for National Scheme entities and an evaluation framework.

#### Other business

There was no other business raised.

#### **Next meeting**

The next meeting will be held via video conference in September 2024.

#### **More information**

Questions about the committee's work may be directed to the secretariat via email to: ahpra.secretariat@ahpra.gov.au.

#### **Members**

Professor Andrew Wilson AO Independent Chair

Professor Maree O'Keefe Accreditation/education expert

Ms Alison Barnes Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander member
Associate Professor Carmen Parter Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander member

Mr Brett Simmonds National Boards representative
Adjunct Professor Veronica Casey AM National Boards representative

Dr Terry Crisp Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum

(HPACF) nominee

Mr Anton Barnett-Harris Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum

(HPACF) nominee

Dr Hamza Vayani Ahpra's Community Advisory Council nominee

Dr Heather Buchan Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

nominee

Dr Mary Russell Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)

nominee

Mr Jeffrey Moffet Ahpra Board member
Professor Trish Davidson AM Ahpra Board member

Mrs Kay Leatherland Australian Private Hospitals Association (Private healthcare

employer) nominee

Professor Esther May Universities Australia nominee

Ms Valerie Ramsperger Jurisdictional representative