

Communiqué

March 2024 meeting of the Accreditation Committee

The Ahpra Board established the Accreditation Committee (the committee) consistent with Ministerial Council Policy Direction 2020-1 to provide independent and expert advice on accreditation reform and other National Scheme accreditation matters to National Scheme entities (National Boards, Accreditation Authorities and Ahpra). Other external entities performing accreditation roles as part of the National Scheme, such as specialist colleges and postgraduate medical councils should have regard for the committee's advice, where relevant.

The committee issues a communiqué after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

The committee held its eleventh meeting via videoconference on 20 March 2024. The Chair welcomed four new members. Dr Terry Crisp is the new Chair and Mr Anton Barnett-Harris the new Deputy Chair of the Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum (HPACF). Dr Mary Russell is the new nominee from the Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA); and Professor Trish Davidson AM joins the committee from the Ahpra Board.

The key areas considered by the committee during the meeting are reflected in its workplan.

National Health Practitioner Ombudsman

The committee welcomed Ms Richelle McCausland, the National Health Practitioner Ombudsman (NHPO) to discuss her review of accreditation processes. Ms McCausland presented the findings of part one of the review into transparency and accountability in speciality medical training site accreditation, outlined the processes for part two of the review into the procedural aspects of accreditation and some of the work completed to date.

The Chair thanked Ms McCausland and expressed his appreciation for the NHPO providing the committee with information on this work.

Update from the Chair

The chair noted that three pieces of work were released for consultation since the last meeting. This included public consultation on the *Principles for strengthening the involvement of consumers in accreditation*, which closes on 18 April 2024. Confidential periods of preliminary consultation were also underway on the draft *Good practice guidance on developing professional capabilities* and the discussion paper on *the use of outcome-based approaches to accreditation*.

Cultural safety and eliminating racism considerations

Members discussed work being undertaken by Ahpra's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Unit to develop a multi-year National Cultural Safety Accreditation and Continuing Professional Development framework and strategy. The new framework and strategy aim to build on previous work to embed cultural safety and eliminating racism in accreditation and continuing professional development requirements across all National Scheme professions. Members noted that a working group has been established to provide input to and guide this work.

Government workforce initiatives

Members noted the update on work being progressed by the National Health Workforce Taskforce to address the recommendations of the *Independent review of health practitioner regulatory settings* (the Kruk review).

Clarifying the roles of National Scheme entities and TEQSA in accreditation of health practitioner education

Members noted the update on the work to develop draft principles to clarify the roles of TEQSA and National Scheme entities in accreditation and to explore opportunities to reduce duplication and regulatory burden for education providers.

Embedding clinical placements, simulation-based learning and virtual care in initial student health practitioner education

Members noted that preliminary consultation on the draft guidance on embedding good practice in clinical placements, simulation-based learning and virtual care in initial student health practitioner education closed in December 2023.

Members considered the updated draft guidance addressing the feedback from preliminary consultation and the report on preliminary consultation. Members approved the release of the draft guidance for public consultation subject to amendments as discussed.

Embedding interprofessional collaborative practice (IPCP) in health practitioner education

Members noted that the IPCP statement of intent was published on 13 March 2024 and that a small working group will be convened to progress implementation of the statement. Members approved the terms of reference and working group membership, subject to amendments as discussed.

Updates to the Accreditation Committee's stakeholder consultation and engagement framework and ways of working document

Members discussed and approved minor amendments to the committee's stakeholder consultation and engagement framework and ways of working documents. The amendments ensure alignment with National Board consultation processes and the committee's current practice. It was agreed that papers would be uploaded five working days before meetings (not five calendar days).

Other business

The chair suggested that Professor Mark Cormack be invited to a future meeting to discuss the Scope of Practice Review.

Dr Mary Russell provided an update on TEQSA's work on Artificial Intelligence (AI) in relation to academic integrity. TEQSA will shortly be seeking information on actions being taken by higher education providers to address AI. TEQSA will be hosting a seminar on assessment integrity and generative AI which may be of interest to committee members.

Next meeting

The next meeting will be held in person in Melbourne in June 2024.

More information

Questions about the committee's work may be directed to the secretariat via email to: ahpra.gov.au.

Members

Professor Andrew Wilson AO Independent Chair

Professor Maree O'Keefe Accreditation/education expert

Ms Alison Barnes Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander member
Associate Professor Carmen Parter Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander member

Mr Brett Simmonds National Boards representative
Adjunct Professor Veronica Casey AM National Boards representative

Dr Terry Crisp Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum

(HPACF) nominee

Mr Anton Barnett-Harris (represented by Ms

Susan Kelly)

Health Professions Accreditation Collaborative Forum

(HPACF) nominee

Dr Hamza Vayani Ahpra's Community Advisory Council nominee

Dr Heather Buchan Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care

nominee

Dr Mary Russell Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)

nominee

Mr Jeffrey Moffet Ahpra Board member
Professor Trish Davidson AM Ahpra Board member

Mrs Kay Leatherland Australian Private Hospitals Association (Private healthcare

employer) nominee

Professor Esther May

Universities Australia nominee

Ms Valerie Ramsperger

Jurisdictional representative