

# Communiqué

May 2024 meeting of the Cultural Safety Accreditation and Continuing Professional Development (ACPD) Working Group

The National Scheme in partnership with the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Group is committed to the <u>National Scheme's Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health and Cultural Safety</u> <u>Strategy 2020-2025</u> (the Strategy).

The Strategy aims to improve the patient safety of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples by eliminating racism from the health system and making cultural safety the norm for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander patients. This includes recognising that patient safety includes the inextricably linked elements of clinical and cultural safety, and that this link must be defined by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Peoples.

A key deliverable of the Strategy is to develop a multi-year National Accreditation and Continuous Professional Development and upskilling Framework and Strategy for the registered health practitioner workforce.

This deliverable is co-designed by a sub-committee of the <u>Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health</u> <u>Strategy Group</u>, called the Cultural Safety Accreditation and Continuing Professional Development (ACPD) Working Group with an Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander consultancy, <u>Weenthunga Health</u> <u>Network</u>.

The Cultural Safety ACPD Working Group is chaired by Yawuru woman, Aboriginal Health Council of South Australia CEO and Ahpra Board member, Tanya McGregor. The working group met virtually on Thursday 16<sup>th</sup> May 2024.

The working group issues a communiqué after each meeting to keep stakeholders informed about its work.

# **Project deliverables**

The project has four key deliverables:

- 1) Literature review (March 2024)
- 2) Market Analysis (April 2024)
- 3) First draft of the Cultural Safety ACPD Framework and Strategy (June 2024)
- 4) Final Cultural Safety ACPD Framework and Strategy (November 2024)

Project deliverables 1 and 2 have been completed with deliverable 3 due shortly in June 2024.

# Market analysis

Members undertook a deep dive discussion and provided feedback unpacking the market analysis report and presentation tabled at the April 2024 meeting. Members highlighted a number of key points, synergies and opportunities based on the existing landscape of accreditation and continuing professional development and potential for the future.

# Information sharing

Members continued to monitor any issues of relevant items and opportunities that may be outside the scope of the project but are important to record and/or act upon.

### **Other business**

Members shared other business aligned to the Cultural Safety ACPD Working Group and project including the presentation provided to the first annual accreditation meeting about the project.

#### **Next meeting**

The next meeting will be held virtually on 20<sup>th</sup> of June 2024.

#### **More information**

Questions about the project may be directed to the secretariat via email to hsu@ahpra.gov.au

#### Members

Ms Tanya McGregor (Chair)	Ahpra Board member
Ms Margaret Banks	Director, National Standards Program, Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care
Dr Ngaree Blow	Director at the University of Melbourne
Mr Karl Briscoe	Chief Executive Officer, National Association of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Workers and Practitioners (NAATSIHWP)
Ms Melissa Browning	Program Manager, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Unit, Ahpra
Dr Ali Drummond	Chief Executive Officer, Congress of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nurses and Midwives (CATSINaM)
Ms Jayde Fuller	National Director, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Health Strategy Unit, Ahpra
Ms Belinda Gibb	Manager, Indigenous Policy and Programs, Australian Medical Council
Ms Donna Murray	Chief Executive Officer, Indigenous Allied Health Australia (IAHA)
Dr Olivia O'Donoghue	National Clinical Head of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Training, National Medical Education, Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)
Ms Rachel Phillips	Chair, Psychology Board of Australia, and Forum of National Chairs
Dr Simone Raye	President, Australian Indigenous Doctors' Association (AIDA)
Rachel Stringfellow	Senior Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Project Officer, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Unit, Ahpra
Helen Townley	National Director, Policy & Accreditation, Ahpra
Kevin Yow Yeh	Associate Lecturer, Carumba Institute, Queensland University of Technology (QUT)
Consultants	
Sam Paxton	Chief Executive Officer, Weenthunga Health Network
Ashley Paxton	SEWB and VAHENonline Spaces Lead, Weenthunga Health Network

Erin McKinnon	Chief Operations Officer, Weenthunga Health Network
Secretariat	
Matarley Hutchison	A/Unit Coordinator, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health Strategy Unit, Ahpra