

Communiqué

November 2024 Rapid Regulatory Response Oversight Group meeting

The independently chaired Rapid Regulatory Response Oversight Group (the Oversight Group) held its inaugural meeting on 11 November 2024.

The Oversight Group was established by Ahpra to provide independent and objective review, advice and assurance to the Board, the community, governments, and professional stakeholders that Ahpra and National Boards are effectively and proactively identifying and responding to emerging and disruptive regulatory challenges.

The first meeting of the Oversight Group was held via videoconference. The meeting provided an opportunity for members to develop a shared understanding of Ahpra and National Boards regulatory intelligence and rapid response work, as well as the Committee's purpose and direction. Members noted and discussed the emerging regulatory issues and the range of regulatory response options available.

Regulatory intelligence approach

Members were provided an overview of Ahpra's regulatory intelligence function that was established to enable emerging regulatory issues that raise public safety concerns to be identified earlier and facilitate more proactive responses. The process considers intelligence from a range of sources including other regulators, and issues are prioritised with risk to public safety being the overarching consideration. Members noted and discussed the emerging regulatory issues that are under active consideration or being monitored.

Rapid regulatory response

Members noted the range of response options available, and actions taken to date including enhanced engagement and collaboration with other regulators to improve information sharing, joint understanding of issues and facilitate coordinated approaches to providing guidance to practitioners on emerging issues. Practitioners have been reminded of existing guidance such as the Code of conduct and other relevant professional guidelines and how these apply in new settings and with new technologies.

An update was also provided on the Ahpra Rapid regulatory response unit (RRRU). The RRRU commenced on 1 July 2024 and is working with existing functions across Ahpra to gather information to inform regulatory responses to emerging issues involving health practitioners. The RRRU has been working collaboratively with regulatory stakeholders including the Therapeutic Goods Administration (TGA) and state and territory governments.

Communications and engagement approach

Members noted an overview of the communications and engagement plan which focuses on education and awareness-building for practitioners and consumers, and collaboration with other regulators.

Oversight group Charter

Members supported the Oversight Group's Charter and noted the active recruitment strategy for a consumer representative. Members also considered the further addition of a representative with expertise in digital health.

Australian Health Practitioner Regulation Agency
National Boards
GPO Box 9958 Melbourne VIC 3001 Ahpra.gov.au 1300 419 495

Next meeting

The Oversight Group will meet quarterly in 2025 with dates to be announced soon.

More information

More information about Ahpra and National Boards' efforts to proactively identify and respond to emerging and disruptive regulatory challenges will be published shortly.

Questions about work of the Oversight Group may be directed to the secretariat via email to: ahpra.gov.au.

Members

Members of the Oversight Group are:

Ms Delia Rickard PSM (Chair) Former Deputy Chair, Australian Competition and Consumer

Commission

Dr Anne Tonkin AO Chair, Medical Board of Australia
Mr Brett Simmonds Chair, Pharmacy Board of Australia

Ms Catherine Katz Executive Director of Intergovernment Relations, Australian

Commission for Safety Quality in Healthcare (ACSQHC)

Ms Elizabeth Koff AM Managing Director, Telstra Health

Prof Euan Wallace AM Secretary, Department of Health, Victoria

Ms Gill Callister PSM Chair, Ahpra Board

Dr Murray Thomas Chair, Dental Board of Australia

Dr Paul Harrison Chair of Consumer Behaviour and Marketing, MBA Program

Director, Deakin University; Professor of Marketing and Consumer

Behaviour, Università Cattolica del Sacro Cuore

Adj Assoc Prof Sophie Scott Health Reporter

Prof Tony Lawler Deputy Secretary, Health Products Regulation Group, Therapeutic

Adj Prof Veronica Casey AM Chair, Nursing and Midwifery Board of Australia